10 Years of Fort Knox Recordings Out Now w/ FREE Download of an FK5 Tune!!!

Release: 10 Years of Fort Knox Recordings 
Artist: Various Artists
Label: Fort Knox Recordings
Catalog #: FKX065

Available Worldwide Now: 

1. See- I – Soul Hit Man
2. Rex Riddem – Salvador Diaspora (Fort Knox Five Remix)
3. Fort Knox Five – Dodge City Rockers
4. All Good Funk Alliance – Mr. Hipnoid ft. Rubber Johnson
5. Empresarios – Sabor Tropical
6. International Velvet – Sitargazer
7. Speedy Consuela – Sukka Suited
8. Omegaman – El O’man Boogaloo
9. Fort Knox Five – The Sax Pusher
10. Nappy Riddem – Angle It
11. All Good Funk Alliance – Throw Down
12. Qdup – Rock On It ft. Flex Mathews
13. Empresarios – Volume
14. Fort Knox Five – The Wonder Strikes Again ft. Sleepy Wonder
15. See-I – Haterz 24/7
16. Speedy Consuela – On Our Way
17. Liftoff – Summers Shown
18. International Velvet – Baby Shiva ft. Rootz of See-I
19. Liftoff – Kool It Man
20. Nappy Riddem – One World Sovereignty ft. Asheru

FREE DOWNLOAD of Fort Knox Five’s “The Wonder Strikes Again ft. Sleepy Wonder”:                    http://soundcloud.com/fortknox/14-fort-knox-five-the-wonder/download:

Don’t call it a retrospective! Ten years may be a major milestone for any record label these days but Washington, DC’s funky little indie, Fort Knox Recordings, appears to have hit it in stride with a bass bin full of momentum and no time for looking back. What started in 2003 as a home-base for the Fort Knox Five’s prodigious stream of dance floor crushers has evolved in to the genre-defying pride of the Nation’s Capitol with a roster that delights and dabbles in Funk, Bass, Latin, Reggae, Disco, Rock, House and Breaks, not to mention Chillout, Psychedelia and Indie.

“10 Years of Fort Knox Recordings” gives a quick taste of all the artists that make up the roster. The first five years saw the rise of Fort Knox Five and it’s immediate spinoff acts: Speedy Consuela, Liftoff and Rob Myers’ (from Thievery Corporation’s “Lebanese Blonde”) Sitar-infused, International Velvet. Then came the era of the collaborators as the close friends and associates of the Fort Knox family brought their own acts into the fold: See-I, DC’s Reggae-Soul superstars; Empresarios, kings of Tropicaliente; Nappy Riddem, aficionados of the Dancehall Funk; and All Good Funk Alliance, masters of Electro Disco.

Also making their first appearances on “10 Years of Fort Knox Recordings” are two like-minded artists whose friendship and remixing skills got them through the vaunted door to the Fort Knox vault. Australia’s Omegaman drops a Latin Big Beat sizzler called “El O‘man Boogaloo,” its tight horns and fat bass stick it right in the Fort Knox wheelhouse. And DC-native, QDup, brings the vintage Hip Hop & Breaks vibe to “Rock On It” a track that introduces local MC sensation Flex Mathews, who will also be appearing in full effect on the upcoming Fort Knox Five full length.

20 songs that span the last ten years of Fort Knox Recordings, cover the globe of sounds & genres and open the door to the future of Funk. It’s what you’ll be dancing to this weekend at the club.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *